Go To Search
Click to Home

City Hall
P.O. Box 257 (mailing)
1812 Main St. (physical)
Lake Stevens, WA 98258

Mayor & City Council
About our Mayor
Mr. Spencer has been involved in the water , wastewater, and electric utility industry for more than 35 years. Vice President & Director of Management Services, CH2M Hill, Seattle, Washington.

For the past 12 years John has worked at CH2M HILL specializing in the areas of utility management, facility planning, and project siting.

Prior to joining CH2M HILL he served as the General Manager of the Snohomish Public Utility District an electric and water utility.

His career also includes 9 years as Director Seattle Metro’s Wastewater Utility and 13 years as the Deputy Director of Washington State Department of Ecology.

Mr. Spencer is experienced in organizing and leading comprehensive water plans, capital improvement, and asset management programs and rate equity studies. He is skilled at group leadership and resolution of complex and controversial problems. 

Community Involvement
  • Current member & past president of Washington Foundation for the Environment
  • Past Board member of National Association of Clean Water Agencies (AMSA) and Association of State & Interstate Water Pollution Control Administrators (ASWIPCA)
  • Past Chairman of the Western States Water Council
  • Active member of ACEC, APWA and WEF

Special Projects
  • Serves on the board of the Snohomish Health District
  • Chairs the Administrative Committee

Historical List of Lake Stevens Mayors
  • 1960-1964 - William Hawkins
  • 1965-1971 - Gayle Whitsell
  • 1972-1973 - Larry Loth
  • 1974-1983 - Bill Cornish
  • 1984-1991 - Richard Toyer
  • 1992-1995 - Diana Hale
  • 1996-1999 - Jay Echols
  • 2000-2006 - Lynn Walty
  • 2006-2015 - Vern Little
  • 2016-Present - John Spencer

Contact Us
John Spencer

John Spencer 
City Hall
P.O. Box 257 (mailing address)
1812 Main St. (physical address)
Lake Stevens, WA 98258

Ph: (425) 334-1012
Fx: (425) 334-0835
Info Advanced